Skip to content ↓

The House System

The school is divided into five houses:

  • Burgh
  • Fenton
  • Keats
  • Lauderdale
  • Willow

They are named after local buildings or “houses” of historic interest. Every student and member of staff belongs to one of the five houses and students have a significant part to play in house activities. Each House is led by the Head Leader, who works with staff and students to develop and establish the House identity and identify opportunities for House competitions and challenges which may include social, academic, fund raising and sporting activities. We divide the school into Houses to: facilitate constructive relationships between students of different ages and between staff and students; provide opportunities for healthy competition and friendly rivalry and to engender loyalty and a sense of belonging to a wider group than a form or year.